Skip to content
ENUSD

Language

Currency

A traveler walking down a busy street

6 min read

Unlimited eSIM: what “unlimited” really means

Almost every unlimited eSIM has a limit: an allowance at full speed, then a reduced speed. Here are the terms stated by each provider we compare.

How an unlimited plan works

You are never cut off, but beyond a certain amount of data, the speed drops. With the providers we compare, that allowance ranges from 2 GB to 5 GB a day when it is counted daily; some count it over the whole plan. After that, the speed drops to 500 kbps, 512 kbps, 1 Mbps or 2 Mbps: enough for messages and maps, often too slow for video.

Each provider’s terms

ProviderAt full speedThenUnlimited offered
GigSky3.5 GB a day500 kbpsIn all 24 countries
GoMoWorld——No
Jetpac3 GB a day1 MbpsIn all 23 countries
Nomad2 GB a day512 kbps, 1 Mbps or 2 MbpsIn all 24 countries
Orange TravelNot statedNot statedIn 22 of 24 countries
PlanJapanNo daily cap announced—In Japan
Ubigi5 GB a day or from 7 GB to 60 GB in total depending on the planReduced speed, no figure statedIn all 24 countries
YesimNot statedReduced speed, no figure statedIn all 24 countries

Based on the plans checked on October 21, 2026 and the terms each provider publishes. “Not stated”: the provider gives no figure.

Unlimited or a data plan?

In Japan, for a week, the cheapest unlimited plan costs $24.49 with GigSky, and the cheapest 6 GB plan $12.99 with GoMoWorld (checked on October 21, 2026). Unlimited is worth it beyond about 25 GB over your trip, or if you often share your connection.

Before you buy an unlimited plan

  • Look at the daily full-speed allowance, not just the word “unlimited”.
  • Check the speed after that allowance: 500 kbps is fine for messages, not for video.
  • If you plan to use a hotspot, check that it is allowed on the unlimited plan.
  • Compare with a data plan: for everyday use, it is often cheaper.

Updated: October 21, 2026