Free eSIM: the trials and offers that really exist
We found no eSIM that is free for a whole trip, but there are real trials: 8 providers give 100 MB to 1 GB with no credit card, and on arrival in the UAE or Vietnam, carriers give 10 GB for 24 hours. Every offer below is checked on the brand’s official page.
Checked on October 21, 2026 on the brands’ pages
Trials with no card
8
travel eSIM providers
Biggest trial
1 GB
Nomad (3 days), GoMoWorld (24 h)
On arrival
10 GB
for 24 h, in the UAE and Vietnam
Offers checked
34
on official pages
Travel eSIM trials
Enough to test the eSIM before you leave or cover your first hours.
| Brand | What is free | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Nomad | 1 GB for 3 days, in 76 destinations | New users, once per phone and per account, in the app; no credit card |
| GoMoWorld | Up to 1 GB for 24 hours, depending on the destination | In the app, in selected destinations; no credit card |
| GigSky | 100 MB for 7 days, in about 125 countries (500 MB in India) | New users, in the app; no credit card. A 100 MB cruise trial also exists |
| Eskimo | 500 MB in 111 countries, no expiry | New users, with the public sign-up code FREE500MB in the app; no credit card |
| Airhub | 200 MB for 3 days, in more than 100 countries | Just an email address, on its trial page |
| Roamless | $1.25 of credit, up to 500 MB | New users, once per account and per phone; credited when the eSIM is activated |
| My Truphone | 100 MB | In the My Truphone app; validity not stated |
| Ubigi | 500 MB for 48 hours | New users, from a partner site’s page (PhoneArena) |
| Keepgo | 100 MB for 7 days, on selected plans (US, Europe…) | New users; card required at checkout ($0); install within a day |
Free on arrival
Given on the spot by the country’s carriers.
| Where and who | What is free | How to get it |
|---|---|---|
| United Arab Emirates · du | 10 GB for 24 hours, as an eSIM; a SIM card is also handed out at Dubai passport control | After entering the country, with a visitor visa; not every traveller gets the SIM card |
| United Arab Emirates · e& | 10 GB for 24 hours, as an eSIM (Free Visitor Line) | After immigration: e&’s QR code and face recognition |
| Vietnam · MobiFone | 10 GB for 24 hours, as an eSIM (data only) | Foreign tourists, one per passport, with an ID check |
| Japan · povo | 0.5 GB a day, to claim at 83 stations | For subscribers to povo’s Japan SIM (data eSIM for visitors) |
| Japan · povo × Ocean Tax Refund | Unlimited data for 24 hours | During the campaign, with a sign-up to Ocean Tax Refund and to the Japan SIM; once per person |
Free, but with a purchase, a booking or a card
The “free” part depends on something else: read the condition.
| Brand | What is free | Condition |
|---|---|---|
| Holafly | 1 GB of backup data every month (Always On) | After buying a Holafly eSIM, as long as it stays installed |
| Voye Global | 100 MB to use at home before you leave | With the purchase of a plan |
| Ubigi | 1 GB of world data, once | With a TAROM booking or a Turkish Airlines Holidays package |
| Kolet | 2 days of data (amount not stated) | New 12Go customers, with a ticket booking |
| GigSky × Visa | 1 to 3 GB for 15 days, or unlimited data for 3 to 7 days in selected countries | With some Visa cards (issued in the US, Canada, Latin America…), added in the app |
| FlexiRoam | 1 GB (World) or 3 GB (World Elite) | With a World Mastercard issued in Canada |
| Vietnam · Sun PhuQuoc Airways | 5 GB for 24 hours, as an eSIM (MobiFone network) | International passengers arriving in Vietnam on one of the airline’s flights; ID check |
Carrier trials
Mostly in the US: generous, but designed for residents.
| Carrier | The trial | For a visitor? |
|---|---|---|
| T-Mobile (US) | 30 days of unlimited talk, text and data, on a secondary eSIM | Not stated |
| Verizon (US) | 30 days with a temporary number and 100 GB of data; you must be in the US | Not stated |
| Visible (US) | 15 days of unlimited talk, text and data; you must be in the US | Not stated |
| Cricket (US) | 14 days: unlimited talk and text, 3 GB; iPhone only | Not stated |
| AT&T (US) | 30 days: talk, text and 100 GB of data; you must live in the US | No, residents only |
| Google Fi (US) | 7 days free; credit card required (temporary hold) | No, residents only |
| US Mobile (US) | 30 days with 30 GB; number transfer and credit card required | No, residents only |
| Fizz (Canada) | 15 days with 3 GB and a temporary number; you need a Canadian number, outside Quebec | No, residents only |
| o2 (Germany) | 30 days free with the Testkarte; bank details required | Not stated |
Data for ads or tasks
Slow and limited, but real.
| App | What is free | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Firsty | 20 MB per ad watched, up to 360 MB a day at 1 Mbps | Sign-up with a number from one of 51 accepted countries |
| Airvoy | Data for short tasks (comparing AI answers), at 512 kbps | Sign-up with a WhatsApp or SMS number |
| Instabridge | 1 GB the first month, with calls and texts | US only |
| TextNow | Free calls and texts; data is not free | US only |
No free trial
According to their own pages:
These offers existed and have ended:
Making the most of a trial
- 1
Test before you leave
A trial checks that your phone accepts the eSIM and that you can install it, before you buy the plan for your trip.
- 2
A few hundred MB
Enough for a few hours, not a week of maps and social media, which takes about 6 GB.
- 3
Once per phone
Most trials are for new users only, once per phone and per account.
- 4
For your stay
The cheapest week costs from $8.00 depending on the destination: our comparison gives it country by country.
The best eSIMs for a week in Thailand
Today’s podium for an everyday trip (6 GB); every destination is compared the same way.

1Ubigi
Unlimited · 7 days
- 25 GB at full speed, then reduced speed
- AIS · True
- Hotspot allowed
$22.00$3.14 per day
2Jetpac
10 GB · 7 days
- AIS
- Hotspot allowed
$9.50$0.95 per GB
3Nomad
50 GB · 10 days
- True
- Hotspot allowed
$15.00$0.30 per GB
Affiliate links
The most popular destinations
For each country, today’s podium and every plan we compare.
Your questions
Answered from our data.
Is there a free eSIM?
Not for a whole trip, as far as we found; but trials give 100 MB to 1 GB with no credit card, and carriers give 10 GB for 24 hours on arrival in the UAE and Vietnam.
Which eSIM has a free trial?
With no credit card: Nomad, GoMoWorld, GigSky, Eskimo, Airhub, Roamless, My Truphone, and Ubigi. With a card required at checkout: Keepgo.
Can I get a free eSIM on arrival?
Yes, in a few countries: du and e& in the United Arab Emirates (10 GB for 24 hours), MobiFone in Vietnam (10 GB for 24 hours, one per passport).
Do T-Mobile or Verizon trials work for a tourist?
They are designed for residents: AT&T requires you to live in the US, Verizon and Visible require you to be there; T-Mobile, Verizon and Visible do not say whether a foreign number is accepted.
Is a free eSIM enough for a trip?
Rarely: trials give a small allowance or a short validity; they are for testing the network before you buy.
Do I need a card for a trial?
Not with Nomad, GoMoWorld, GigSky, Eskimo, Airhub, Roamless, My Truphone, and Ubigi; other providers ask for a card, even for a trial.
Which eSIM to pay for if the trial is not enough?
For a week of everyday use (6 GB), the eSIMs we compare start at $8.00 depending on the destination.
Does a free trial commit me to buy?
Not with the providers we checked: the trial simply ends; just make sure no renewal is switched on.













